Move My Documents Folder

Many applications store data in the “My Documents” folder.  Unfortunately, by default this folder is buried at “C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\My Documents”.

A smarter approach is to separate your programs and data.  For example, I store the operating system and programs on my C: drive and all data on my D: drive.

But simply moving your data is not enough–you need to tell applications and the operating system where to find it.

To change the default location of the “My Documents” folder:

  1. Click the Windows Start button.  The “Start” menu appears.
  2. Right-click on My Documents, then seelct Properties from the popup menu.
  3. Ensure the Target tab is selected.
  4. Click the Move button.
  5. The “Select a Destination” dialog appears.  Select the folder where you want to store your documents, then click OK.
  6. The ”Move Documents” confirmation dialog appears.  Click Yes to move your documents to the new location.

IMPORTANT: If at any time during this process you decide to cancel, be sure to click the Cancel button in the “My Documents Properties” dialog as well.

writerbaran

Leave a Reply

